FAREHAM BOROUGH COUNCIL

COUNCIL MEETING SUMMONS

Members of Fareham Borough Council are hereby summoned to attend a meeting of the Council to be held in the Solent Room at Ferneham Hall, commencing at 10.30am. This meeting will adjourn for lunch and re-convene at 2.30pm in the Council Chamber, Civic Offices, Fareham, on
 THURSDAY, 10 MAY 2018, commencing at 10.30 am.

The Mayor: Councillor Geoff Fazackarley

The Deputy Mayor:

Councillor Keith Barton Councillor Fred Birkett Councillor Jonathan Butts Councillor Louise Clubley Councillor Shaun Cunningham Councillor Tina Ellis Councillor Keith Evans Councillor Michael Ford, JP Councillor Tiffany Harper Councillor Carolyn Heneghan Councillor Kay Mandry Councillor Simon Martin Councillor Sarah Pankhurst Councillor Katrina Trott Councillor Nick Walker



Also in Attendance

Those Councillors newly elected at the Borough Election on 03 May 2018.

1. Prayers

The meeting will commence with a short service of prayers.

CITIZENS OF HONOUR

Prior to the commencement of the meeting, there will be a presentation of awards for the Citizens of Honour, the Young Citizens of Honour and the HMS Collingwood Cup.

2. Apologies for Absence - morning session

3. Election of Mayor

To elect the Mayor of Fareham for the municipal year 2018/19. (The Order of Proceedings to be observed is set out in the programme, which will available at the meeting).

4. Election of Deputy Mayor

To elect the Deputy Mayor for the Municipal Year 2018/19 in accordance with Standing Order 2.2.

5. Mayor's Cadet

To present the Mayor's Cadet for 2018/19 with the badge of service.

6. Adjournment until 2.30pm

The meeting will re-convene in the Council Chamber, Civic Offices, Fareham.

7. Apologies for absence - afternoon session

8. Mayor's Announcements

9. Declarations of Interest

To receive any declarations of interest from Members in accordance with Standing Orders and the Council's Code of Conduct.

10. Appointment of the Executive

(1) Executive Leader

Members are reminded that at the annual meeting in May 2016, Councillor S D T Woodward was elected to be the Executive Leader for a term of 4 years.

(2) Number of Other Executive Members

Members are reminded that following the resolution of the Council on 16 December 2010, the Executive Leader is invited to advise the Council of the

appointment of two or more (but no more than nine) Members to form the Executive.

(3) Election of Other Executive Members

Members are reminded that the Executive Leader is responsible for determining the areas of Executive responsibility and for allocating the portfolios to the Executive Members appointed. The Executive Leader is invited to advise the Council of the appointments.

(4) Areas of Executive Responsibility

In accordance with Standing Order 5.1, the Executive Leader is invited to determine the separate areas of responsibility to be allocated to the Executive Members for the following year. Members are advised that following the Executive Leader's decision, the following are the areas of responsibility:-

- Housing;
- Leisure and Community;
- Streetscene;
- Health and Public Protection;
- Planning and Development; and
- Policy and Resources

The Executive Leader is invited to confirm the areas of responsibility for 2018/19. Members are reminded that the allocation of these portfolios to the Executive Member is a matter for the Executive Leader.

11. Appointment of Committees and Allocation of Seats (Pages 7 - 12)

In accordance with its Standing Orders, the Council is invited to consider a report on the appointment of committees and the allocation of seats following the nominations of political groups.

12. Standards Arrangements - Appointment of a Designated Independent Person

The Council is reminded that the Localism Act 2011 implemented significant changes to the Standards regime which required the Council to put in place new arrangements to deal with matters of ethics, probity and Members conduct.

At its meeting in May 2017, the Council appointed Mr David Basson as the Designated Independent Person for the 2017/18 Municipal Year. It is recommended that Mr David Basson be appointed as the Council's Designated Independent Person for the 2018/19 Municipal Year.

13. Appointment to Outside Bodies (Pages 13 - 36)

Standing Order 10 requires the Council to make appointments to outside bodies, other than appointments which are required by law to be made by the Executive. Appended to this agenda is a report scheduling the appointments to be made.

14. Executive Leader's Announcements

15. Executive Members' Announcements

16. Presentation of Petitions

To receive any petitions presented by a member of the Council.

Note: any petition so presented will be dealt with in accordance with the Council's petition scheme.

17. Deputations

To receive any deputations of which notice has been given.

18. Questions under Standing Order 17.2

To answer questions pursuant to Standing Order 17.2 for this meeting.

19. Motions under Standing Order 15

Members will be informed, prior to the meeting, of any motion duly notified in accordance with Standing Order 15 but received after print and dispatch of the agenda.

20. Policy Framework

Standing Order 9 requires the Council to establish or confirm the plans and strategies which are to comprise the Council's overall policy framework within which the Executive will operate during the coming year. The Council's Constitution sets out the major plans and strategies reserved to the Council for approval. The Council is therefore invited to confirm the policy framework for 2018/19 as comprising those plans and strategies identified in the table below.

Policy/Strategy	Last adopted or approved by	Date
Sustainable Community Strategy	Council	01 February 2010
Housing Strategy	Council	22 April 2010
Licensing Policy	Council	28 April 2016
 Development Plan: Fareham Local Plan Part 1: Core Strategy Fareham Local Plan 	Council	04 August 2011 08 June 2015
Part 2: Development Sites and Policies • Fareham Local Plan Part 3: The Welborne Plan	Council	08 June 2015
Community Safety Strategy	Council	29 May 2014
Corporate Strategy	Council	14 December 2017

PGnimwood

P GRIMWOOD Chief Executive Officer <u>www.fareham.gov.uk</u> 1 May 2018

For further information please contact: Democratic Services, Civic Offices, Fareham, PO16 7AZ Tel:01329 236100 <u>democraticservices@fareham.gov.uk</u>